Contact Us  |  Member Login  |  ISPN Listserve     





ISPN Member Spotlight

The AAN is the American Academy of Nursing, the pinnacle of nursing work. The organization is concerned with nursing practice and  health policy and writes position papers, policy briefs and sponsors the journal Nursing Outlook. Here is the URL if you want to know more:

We had 4 ISPN members inducted this year - all leaders in ISPN: Ukamaka Oreche, Lora Beebe, Cheryl Giscombe, Beth Bonham.

ISPN member spotlight


ISPN member spotlight


ISPN member spotlight


ISPN member spotlight


ISPN member spotlight


Additional Announcements


  Dr. Ukamaka Oruche , with the Dean of Indiana University School of Nursing Dr. Robin Newhouse, published a podcast on how the IU School of Nursing is helping to address the mental health provider crisis in Indiana. Click on the link below to hear their conversation.

  Dr. Victoria Soltis-Jarrett , Past President of ISPN (2011-2013) and Ross Distinguished Professor and Coordinator of the PMHNP Program at UNC- Chapel Hill, was awarded a $1.1 million grant from Human Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) to advance mental health nursing in rural areas of North Carolina. Dr. Soltis-Jarrett and her colleagues will educate 12 new primary care nurse practitioners (NP) to implement integrated (mind/body) health care for patients in NC's rural and underserved counties. Click on the link below for more information about this grant.


  Congratulations to Dr. Jane Neese. The spotlight is on Dr. Jane Neese, North Carolina, who is also a member of the ISPN Nominating Committee. Read more...

  Dr. Theodora Sirota has accepted a position as Associate Dean in the School of Health and Natural Sciences and Chair of the Nursing Department, University of Saint Joseph, West Hartford, CT.


  ISPN congratulates Joyce J. Fitzpatrick, PhD, MBA, RN, FAAN , on being named a Living Legend by the American Academy of Nursing. Dr. Fitzpatrick is the editor of ISPN's journal Archives of Psychiatric Nursing.


  Dr. Jill Bormann , ISPN member and currently the Associate Chief Nurse for Research at the VA in La Jolla, CA has spent decades researching the impact on Mantram (a technique or mindfulness) on PTSD, Healthcare staff, wellness etc. Oprah picked her research and profiled it in the August edition of "O" magazine. Dr. Bormann presented her work at ISPN's 2015 conference. Kudos to Dr. Bormann for recognition of her research and success!

6/5/16 - 7/28/16

  Andrea Kwasky DNP, PMHNP-BC, PMHCN received a Nightingale Award as Distinguished Faculty from Oakland University in May, Detroit, Michigan

  Evelyn Parrish PhD, APRN-BC, ISPN Past President (2013-2014) was named Editor in Chief of the journal, Perspectives in Psychiatric Care.

  Ukamaka Oruche MSN, RN, CNS, PhD was appointed to the Indiana State Mental and Behavioral Health Workforce Task Force. The group will make recommendations to the Governors Health Workforce Council.

  Barbara Frechette DNP, PMHNP, FCN presented her paper, Hurtology: An Online Course at the 3rd Pediatric Nursing Association of Europe (PNAE) Congress in Porto, Portugal May 2016.

  Edilma Yearwood PhD, PMHCNS-BC, FAAN and Sally Raphel MS, APRN/PMH,FAAN presented their paper, Leading Nursing Educational Progress in Child Mental Health, at the 3rd PNAE Congress on Pediatric Nursing in Porto, Portugal May 2016.

  Geraldine S. Pearson PMH-CNS, PHD, FAAN, ISPN Past President (2006-2009), was appointed Editor in Chief of the Journal of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association.

  Cheryl Woods Giscombe PhD, PMHNP-BC was named a Macy Faculty Scholar from The Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation and is the director of the Interprofessional Institute for Mental Health Equity, the project she developed as a Macy Scholar. In addition, Dr. Woods Giscombe was a Scholar in the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Faculty Scholars Program.

  Nancy Fowler, PMHNP, practicing at the Isaac Ray Center, Inc. in Chicago, IL was promoted to Psychiatric Services Administrator at the Center.

  Mary Weber PhD, PMHNP-BC, FAANP will be inducted as a new Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing in October, 2016.

  Marian Newton PhD, RN, CS, PMHNP, ANEF was inducted into the National League for Nursing Academy of Nursing Education. Additionally, Dr. Newton was selected as one of the 60 Gator Nurse Greats in honor of the University of Florida College of Nursing's 60th anniversary,  recognizing 60 outstanding alumni who exemplify the ideals of the College's tri-partite motto "Care, Lead, Inspire."

  Pamela Galehouse PhD, RN, PMHCNS-BC presented her paper, Supporting the Behavioral Health of Children: Temperament Based Interventions to Support Development and Reduce Risk, at the 3rd PNAE Congress on Pediatric Nursing in Porto, Portugal May 2016.


[Home]   [About ISPN]   [Conference]   [Membership]   [News]   [Events]   [Publications]   [Resources]   [Contact ISPN]
[ISPN Foundation]   [Members Login]   [ISPN Listserve]   [Site Map]   [ISPN Website Policies & Disclaimer]

Copyright © 2000 International Society of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurses
All rights reserved.
Developed and hosted by ProAccess Internet Services, LLC
Technical questions and comments to